Arthur Guy Painting Prize Winner

Tuesday, 22 March 2011

Painter Tim Johnson has been awarded the $50,000 Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize, a biennial open painting prize awarded by Bendigo Art Gallery.

The winning work, Community Base, will now be acquired by the gallery.

Since 1980 Johnson has actively collaborated with numerous Indigenous artists, including Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri, as well as senior Asian artists.

Johnson was selected from a field of 37 shortlisted artists, including Tim McMonagle, Kate Bergin, Neil Haddon, Yvette Coppersmith, Geoff Newton Megan Walch and Aida Tomescu.



< Go Back


Subscribe to our e-News

* indicates required